Does Marriage Equal loss of Freedom?

I often heard in the time leading up to my wedding that getting married means losing valuable freedom to do what I want when I want. This is a negative comment. If this is the way the world views marriage and Christ followers are viewing marriage the same, we have a problem. Is this the way we ought to think being the Bride of Christ? Our God designed us to be married. Genesis says, “A man shall leave his father and mother and cleave to his wife.” Is there a hint of losing freedom in that statement? I propose that marriage is exactly the opposite. Marriage brings freedom. It gives man and woman opportunity to deal with their own inadequacy and learn to live as “one” not as two individuals. We live now as “one” with Christ. Yesterday, I was reading 1 Corinthians as Paul was discussing us being “one body” with Christ. Christ is one body and we are the members of that body. I love that scripture. Marriage is not a burden. It is not the ring Frodo wore around his neck as he made his way to the Pit of Doom to destroy it. Marriage is life. God designed marriage to be the expression of His relationship with us here on earth. Lets work at transforming our mindset about marriage. Lets change our perspective from one of earthly negativity to one of heavenly splendor. I love being the bride. I’m dressed in white and am being made ready for my reunion with the Bridegroom. Are you ready?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

