A Good Report from the Land

June 6, 2007

In Numbers 13, the Israelites are commanded to select one military leader from each tribe to go up and spy out the land they are to take possession of. They are to return and give a good report of what they saw and heard. I have a good report to give about an event in my own life.

I recieved an e-mail a while ago from my mom saying that there is a Pentecostal church in Wolseley, Saskatchewan whose Pastor is leaving at the end of July. She asked if I was interested in a Pastoral charge. I said yes…of course. I began to prepare my resume and edit my cover letter accordingly to send off to the board of this church. They are an independent Pentecostal church and are under a loose covering with an organization I cannot recall at this time. A church of about fifty in number and currently celebrating their 25th year anniversary.

I had the opportunity to speak to one of the board members on the phone last Thursday, we had a great conversation. He asked me about myself and my activities as I asked him about the church and its developing potential. I also had opportunity to graciously share my views on church involvement in the community (an area of passion for me). I told him that I did not have a wealth of experience to offer but I what I could offer was an opportunity to learn together, to build and walk out a relationship with God together, learning to walk in His ways while developing leadership and establishing foundation corporately and individually.

I sent off my resume and cover letter on Friday morning and await some information from them in exchange. Leona and I are praying this through and wait to see what the Lord holds in store for us as one flesh. This church is hungry for the word, their thirst is real and authentic. They are still living in the reality of the prophecy of Amos 8:11-12,

“Behold, days are coming,” declares the Lord God, “When I will send a famine on the land, Not a famine for bread or a thirst for water, But rather for hearing the words of the Lord. People will stagger from sea to sea and from the north even to the east; They will go to and fro to seek the word of the Lord, But they will not find it.”

 If I am called to be the instrument of God to quench their thirst and dissipate their hunger, I desire to be obedient to that. Please keep this in prayer as it is a huge door that has been opened to me.